www.capoeira-palmares.fr
Association de capoeira PALMARES de Paris.

flag
en français
flag
em português

portrait Lúcia
by Lúcia Palmares
symbole courrier
contact

revised on May 20, 2007

Lúcia Palmares

Lúcia Querino, born in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil, on May 15, 1955, a student of Mestre Nô from 1971. Graduated in capoeira in 1979, then taught in Salvador until 1992, then in Santos, state of São Paulo, and from 1996 in Paris, France.

Lúcia Querino was born in Salvador, Bahia on May 15, 1955. She trained capoeira with Norival Moreira de Oliveira, Mestre Nô, from 1971, in his academy in Massaranduba, Orixás da Bahia. Lúcia was the first woman student of mestre Nô's. She was graduated as professor in 1979.

She taught in Mestre Dinelson's Centro Suburbano de Capoeira, in Alto de Coutos, suburban Salvador, from 1980 to 1990. Mestre Nô gave her the Contra-Mestre belt in 1987.

photo
The 2nd batizado of the Grupo Palmares in Santos in december 1994 hosted master Braulino (standing), master Bandeira (squatting, on the right) and Sombra.

In 1992 she moved to Santos (SP). After a while, she taught capoeira again, in Ely's bodybuilding and fitness club. Having obtained, by telephone, Mestre Nô's permission to use the name capoeira Palmares, her group introduced itself to the Santos capoeiristas on January 4, 1993. Lúcia then began to work in the Casa de Cultura da Mulher Negra (House of Culture of the Black Woman, N.G.O.). On some occasion, a colleague suggested that she should use the name Lúcia Palmares, which she did from then on.

Lucia in cold Paris
Lúcia in Paris

In 1995 she travelled to France, where she lives since 1996. She created the Groupe de Capoeira Palmares in september of this same year, with Pol Briand, at the R.D. Sporting Club. (Paris 10e). When this place closed, the group moved to Studio Coustou (Paris 18th), and then to the Espace Fontaine (Paris 9th), where it is continuing its activity.

Lúcia Palmares also taught in the suburban areas of Torcy and Champs-sur-Marne, and in capoeira workshops for Physical Training teachers in 1999 e 2000 (see reflexions about capoeira in schools) and goes on with her regular job, assisting old people.

Texts


Back to directory page.

top of page

Lucia Palmares & Pol Briand
3, rue de la Palestine 75019 Paris
Tel. : (33) 1 4239 6436
Email : polbrian@capoeira-palmares.fr

Association de Capoeira Palmares de Paris

www.capoeira-palmares.fr
Association de capoeira PALMARES de Paris.

drapeau
em português
drapeau
in english

portrait Lúcia
par Lúcia Palmares
symbole courrier
contact

revu le 28 mai 2007

Lúcia Palmares

Lúcia Querino, née à Salvador, Bahia, le 15 mai 1955, élève de Mestre Nô a partir de 1971; elle reçut la corde de professeur en 1979, et enseigna la capoeira à Salvador jusqu'en 1992, puis à Santos dans l'État de São Paulo, et à Paris depuis 1996.

Lúcia Querino est née à Salvador, Bahia, le 15 mai 1955. Elle a appris la capoeira du Mestre Nô (Norival Moreira de Oliveira), a partir de 1971, dans l'académie Orixás da Bahia, dans le quartier de Massaranduba, et fut la première femme élève de ce maître. Elle reçut la corde de professeur en 1979.

Elle enseigna ensuite dans le Centro Suburbano de Capoeira (Alto de Coutos, banlieue de Salvador) de Mestre Dinelson de 1980 à 1990. Elle reçut la corde de Contra-Mestre du Mestre Nô en 1987.

foto
Le 2º batizado du Groupe Palmares à Santos en décembre 1994 a accueilli les maîtres Braulino (debout), Bandeira (accroupi à droite) et Sombra.

En 1992 elle partit pour Santos (état de São Paulo) où, après quelque temps, elle recommença à donner des cours de capoeira dans le club de musculation d'Ely. Ayant reçu, par téléphone, la permission de maître Nô pour utiliser le nom de Capoeira Palmares, le groupe se présenta aux capoeiristes de Santos dans son premier batizado le 4 janvier 1993. Lúcia commença à travaille à la Casa de Cultura da Mulher Negra (Maison de la Culture de la Femme Noire, O.N.G.). Une collègue lui proposa de s'appeler Lúcia Palmares, et depuis lors, elle utilise ce surnom.

photo
Lúcia à Paris.

En 1995 elle vint en France, où elle demeure depuis 1996. Elle a fondé le Groupe de Capoeira Palmares de Paris en septembre de la même année, avec Pol Briand, au R.D. Sporting Club (Paris 10e). Après la fermeture de ce club, le groupe déménagea pour le Studio Coustou (Paris 18e), puis, pour la même raison, pour l'Espace Fontaine (Paris 9e), où il poursuit ses activités.

Lúcia Palmares a donné des cours de capoeira en banlieue à Torcy et à Champs-sur-Marne, et des stages pour les professeurs d'éducation physique en 1999 et 2000 (voir texte de réflexion en portugais) et continue à exercer son métier d'assistance aux personnes agées.

Textes


Retour à la page de base.

haut de la page

Lucia Palmares & Pol Briand
3, rue de la Palestine 75019 Paris
Tel. : (33) 1 4239 6436
Email : polbrian@capoeira-palmares.fr

Association de Capoeira Palmares de Paris